Welcome Message

The structure of this web site is to honor those individuals that have devoted their lives to serving Arizona's youth with leadership, excellence, and success.  The men and women inducted into the Arizona High School Athletic Coaches Hall of Fame are the epitome of their profession and are being honored by their peers.  As of this writing 210 great coaches/educators have been inducted into this place of honor.  The Hall of Fame inductions began in 1984 with 32 charter members.  Usually a group of 5 new worthy coaches are added annually after a preceding member and/or the Executive Board induction committee nominates and then selects the candidates on the basis of their tenure, merit, and other exemplary characteristics.  We hope you enjoy moving through this history of excellence in Arizona High School Athletics.  You are navigating through a membership of coaches that have all been a coach for 20 years in the same sport, more than one sport, had unparalleled success, and/or have served their respective coaches' associations in various volunteer capacities.  Enjoy this trip down memory lane. 

Hall of Fame

Robert L "Bob" Yniguez was another Hall of Famer that was an Arizona lifer.  Bob graduated from Superior High School, played basketball at Mesa Community College, and finished his education at Arizona State University.  Coach Yniguez began his career at Tolleson and then finished a forty year...Read more

Coach Bud Davis' Tuba City Warriors Cross Country teams dominated their sport in the late 1970's and early 80's.  The Warriors under Davis won six consecutive Class 4A State Championships in 1978, 79, 80, 81, 82, and 83.  The Warriors won again under the new coach in 1984.  Six in a row, WOW...Read more

Coach Ed Anderson led the Scottsdale Coronado Dons to the Class 5A State Championship in football with an exciting victory over Hall of Fame coach Earl Clupper and the South Mountain Rebels 17-12 in 1976.  Coach Anderson started his career with the Chandler Wolves in the mid 1950's and moved to...Read more

Bill Taylor coached over 20 years at Bisbee High School in southeastern Arizona.  Coach Taylor led his Pumas to an amazing 11 state titles.  The Pumas were the Class 4A Boys State Track Champions in 1969, 1970, 1971, 1974, 1975, and 1976.  In the 3A class, the Pumas were the State Champions in...Read more

Matt O. Hanhila was a scholar, teacher, administrator, coach, and official in Arizona's public school systems for an unbelievable career of 58 years.  Dr. Hanhila was born in Finland and came to this country in 1913.  He attended college and has the rare distinction of receiving his Bachelor's (...Read more

John McGlumphy is often remembered as the "Father of Rural School Wrestling".  He taught and coached at Benson High School from 1958 until 1989.  His 1971 Bobcats were the Class 2A State Champions.  His 1962 and 1963 teams were the Arizona State Runners-Up.   He coached 22 individual state...Read more

Jim Acton has been around small school basketball in Arizona, and with a lot of success.  Coach Acton has made stops in Valley Union, Saudi Arabia, San Carlos,  Superior, Globe, River Valley, and currently Chino Valley.  Coach Acton's Superior Panthers were the Class 2A State Basketball...Read more

Gilbert Padilla finished an outstanding career at Morenci High School as the head wrestling coach in 2006.  His Wildcats were 5 time Class 3A State Wrestling Champions in 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, and 2005.  They were the State Runners-Up in 1998, and third at the state meet in 2004.  Coach...Read more

Coach Altersitz began his coaching career in Holfbrook as a basketball coach in 1957.  His 1971 Roadrunners won the State Class 3A State Basketball Championship.  Jack Altersitz was one of the pioneers for prep soccer.   Coach Altersitz's Cactus Cobra Boys Soccer Teams won six State Class 4A...Read more

Craig Cummins coached cross country, swimming, and was an athletic trainer at Mesa Westwood high school for 37 total years.  His swimming teams were outstanding.  Cummins' Westwood Warriors were the Class 5A State Swimming Champions six times (1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1975, 1976).  The Warriors...Read more