Cross Country

Bud Davis

Coach Bud Davis' Tuba City Warriors Cross Country teams dominated their sport in the late 1970's and early 80's.  The Warriors under Davis won six consecutive Class 4A State Championships in 1978, 79, 80, 81, 82, and 83.  The Warriors won again under the new coach in 1984.  Six in a row, WOW!!!

David Cruickshank

Coach David Cruickshank's cross country teams dominated the Class 5A schools in the  1980's.  Coaching at Phoenix Trevor Browne High School, Cruickshank's Bruins were the Class 5A State Champions in 1985, 1986, 1988, and 1989.  The 1987 team was the State Runner-Up.

Dave Conatser

Dave Conatser has spent his life teaching and coaching in Winslow, Arizona.  Dave's boys and girls cross country teams were very successful during the late 60's through the early 90's.  His boy Bulldogs were the Class 4A State Champions in 1972 and 1973.  The boys were State Runners-Up in 1970, 1971, 1974, and 1975.  Winslow shows up finishing third at the State Meet in 1968, 1969, 1993, 1997, and 1999.  The Lady Bulldogs under Conatser were the Class 4A State Champions in 1976 and 1977.  The girls were also Runners-Up in 1978 and third in 1983.

Kyle Sawyer

Kyle Sawyer is one of the winningest cross country coaches in Arizona history.  Coach Sawyer won 5A state titles at three different schools.  Sawyer's Westwood Warriors won titles in 1990, 91, 93, 94, 95, and 96.  At Mesa Dobson and Mesa Mountain View Sawyer's teams won in 1997 and 2004.  Sawyer's '92 Westwood team was the Runner-Up.  Sawyer logged an amazing 50 years of coaching with 31 years as a head coach and 29 years as an assistant.  His overall record of 1,086-104 (95%) will probably never be beaten.  Coach Sawyer, along with colleague Nancy Ellis of Dobson High, were finalists in th

Joe Ehlers

Joe Ehlers led the South Mountain Rebels to the 5A State Cross Country Titles in 1970, 72, and 74.  Coach Ehlers moved on to Trevor Browne High School before retirement after 47 years of coaching.  His meet record at South Mountain was an amazing 149-11.  Coach also had three State Runners-Up teams during his tenure.